September 12, 2023
Dean Vicki Ellingrod

Dean Vicki Ellingrod, PharmD, FCCP, FACNP, has been awarded the 2024 Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award by the American Association of Psychiatric Pharmacists (AAPP).

This honor is presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and represents these qualities and ideals:

  • professional enthusiasm
  • a passion for optimizing patient care, and
  • continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy.
  • Saklad Memorial Award is named after the late Judith J. Saklad and will be presented at the 2024 AAPP Annual Meeting.

Nominators cited Dean Ellingrod for her leadership in precision medicine research and study of psychotropic medication response. They also recognized her significant role in building programs to improve education and mentoring, as well as her success in exposing her trainees to as many aspects of an academic career as possible.

In addition to her roles as dean and the John Gideon Searle Professor at the College of Pharmacy, Ellingrod is also a professor of Psychiatry and Psychology within the Medical School and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. She also serves as associate director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research (MICHR) and principal investigator for the K12 program, which provides training and mentoring in translational research for health professionals and junior faculty.