Welcome to the Department of Clinical Pharmacy. Our faculty are pioneering new approaches to improving lives through better use of medicines with collaborative health services, precision pharmacotherapy, and translational research. We provide direct patient care through innovative, nationally recognized service models, and are advancing the profession with the next generation of educators and innovators through our PharmD Curriculum, Pharmacy Residency Programs, Clinical Pharmacy Translational Science PhD, and Clinical Pharmacy Translational Science Post-Doctoral Fellowship Program.

Using Machine Intelligence to Prevent Medication Dispensing Errors with Prof. Corey Lester

“We are better together”, inspiring words by Prof. Paul Walker, President of ASHP

Faculty Spotlight

Bo Wen photo

Dr. Amy N. Thompson is a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy and Director of Clinical Ambulatory Pharmacy Services for the University of Michigan Medical Group. She graduated from the Medical University of South Carolina with her Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2005 and her postgraduate training, both PGY1 and PGY2 in Family Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Within the College of Pharmacy, Dr. Thompson serves as the Associate Chair for the Department of Clinical Pharmacy. She is actively involved with student mentorship; and serves as faculty co-advisor for the Student Run Free Clinic and our American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists organization. Dr. Thompson is passionate about experiential education and oversees the P2 Ambulatory Care IPPE. Additionally, she takes P4 students on rotation for a non-traditional ambulatory care management experience. In the classroom setting, Dr. Thompson teaches within our therapeutic sequence on disease state management of the aging patient.

At the health-system, Dr. Thompson oversees ambulatory care clinical practice across primary care and most specialty areas. Additionally, she provides chronic disease state management for patients within the primary care setting. Dr. Thompson is actively involved with the American Pharmacists Association where she is the current coordinator elect for the Medical Home/ACO special interest group. Dr. Thompson’s scholarly activity focuses on ambulatory care service development, transitions of care, as well as student and residency training.