Gordon Amidon earned his MA in mathematics and his PhD in pharmaceutical chemistry from the University of Michigan. His research group has developed approaches for predicting drug absorption in humans prior to human studies. Besides assisting greatly in the design and development of new drugs, this approach provides a basis for setting rational in vitro standards for drug development and approval.

Professor Amidon’s group recently demonstrated that the intestinal mucosal cell peptide transporter can be used to significantly increase the oral absorption of poorly absorbed polar drugs. With this approach, drugs that would otherwise be ineffective by oral administration can be used in the treatment of various human diseases. Additional research areas include oral delivery of peptide and peptide-type drugs, cellular transport and metabolism of peptide-like drugs and prodrugs, drug dissolution and oral drug delivery, viscoelastic properties of polymeric drug delivery systems, modulatable drug delivery systems, and cloning of the intestinal peptide transporter. 

Feature Story
Dr. Gordon Amidon Receives Honorary Doctorate

Dr. Gordon L. Amidon received a Doctor Honoris Causa (Honorary Doctorate) from the Miguel Hernández (UMH) University of Elche in Alicante, Spain on January 28, 2015. The investiture ceremony took place during the celebration of the feast of St. Thomas Aquinas.

Research Interests

  • Drug transport and delivery


  • 2018 Takeru Higuchi Research Achievement Award, APhA
  • 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award, Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • 2018 Honorary Degree in Science, SUNY-Buffalo
  • 2017 Mentor of the Year, AFPE
  • 2017 Distinguished University Professor Award, U-M Office of the President
  • 2017 2017 Distinguished University Professor, University of Michigan
  • 2015 Doctor Honoris Causa, Universitas Miguel Hernandez, Alicante, Spain
  • 2015 Dedicated Issue Volume 104, Issue 9, Pages i-ii, 2649-3235, September 2015, Journal of PharmSci
  • 2012 Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Takeru Higuchi Award for Pharmaceutical Research Contributions, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
  • 2011 Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Research Fellowship Award, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
  • 2009 Alexander Von Humboldt Research Fellowship Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • 2006 Gerhard Levy Distinguished Lectureship, University at Buffalo
  • 2006 Federation Internationale Pharmaceutique (FIP) Distinguished Science Award, Federation Internationale Pharmaceutique
  • 2005 American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award, AAPS highest award, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
  • 2004 Volwiler Research Achievement Award, in recognition of outstanding research achievement by an AACP pharmacy educator, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
  • 2004 American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Meritorious Manuscript Award, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
  • 2003 Controlled Release Society Founders, Controlled Release Society
  • 2001 Honorary Doctor of Pharmacy Degree, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden
  • 1996 Scheele Award, Swedish Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences, for outstanding contributions to the field of oral drug delivery and biopharmaceutics, Swedish Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • 1984 Ebert Prize, American Pharmaceutical Association
  • 1981 Ebert Prize, American Pharmaceutical Association
  • 1980 Parenteral Drug Association Research Award (as faculty advisor to student of award-winning research paper), Parenteral Drug Association
  • 1975 Ebert Prize, American Pharmaceutical Association