Events Give Now Update Your Info Submit News Homepage
June 2014

College Enhances Communication Efforts

We’re excited to announce the launch of our new electronic newsletter, eInteractions! Along with a new and improved website, this will give you timely information to your desktop, tablet, or smartphone – our new responsive design is compatible on all devices. Don’t worry, we plan to continue producing Interactions annually. Also, we’ve streamlined the process of submitting your news and information: email [email protected] or complete the form!

Top Stories
U-M Pharmacy Announces New Dean Appointment
James Dalton has been named dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Michigan. The appointment of his five-year term, beginning Sept. 1, was approved by the U-M Board of Regents in late April.
Dr. Kiela Samuels Wins First AACP Master Preceptor Recognition Award
In its inaugural year of the Master Preceptor Recognition program, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy has selected Kiela Samuels, PharmD’87, as one of the program’s first awardees.
Class of 2014 Graduates Celebrate at Commencement
The College’s Commencement was held on Saturday, April 26, 2014, with over 900 friends and family members in attendance. A total of 90 PharmD students and 14 PhD students graduated this year. Congratulations to the Class of 2014!
Dr. Shaomeng Wang Honored as 2014 Distinguished University Innovator
Dr. Shaomeng Wang has been selected as the 2014 Distinguished University Innovator Award Recipient. He is being honored for his pioneering work in the field of drug discovery and his on-going efforts to bring the fruits of this work to the marketplace.
Student News
P4 Pledge Drive Students Receive Forever Go Blue Award
It is our pleasure to congratulate College of Pharmacy P4 Pledge Drive Committees of the past 10 years as recipients for the Forever Go Blue Award in Student Philanthropy within the University of Michigan. Over the last decade, our students have pledged nearly $700,000 to support P3 and P4 scholarships. Students from the 2014 P4 Committee accepted the award on behalf of that past decade’s worth of committees at the university-wide Michigan Difference Student Leadership Award Ceremony on Tuesday, April 15, 2014.
Rothermal, Brooks Earn National Honors
Congratulations to Mary Rothermal on earning a Top 10 finalist spot in the National APhA Patient Counseling Competition and Kristina Brooks for her selection into the 2014 AACP Walmart Scholars Program.
Pharmacy Students Participate in Multiple Statewide Competitions
College of Pharmacy students became state champions at the NASPA-NMA Student Pharmacist Self-Care Championship, and placed 2nd in the Self-Care Competition at the MPA Annual Convention and Exposition in early February and March, respectively.
Faculty News
Dr. Gundy Sweet Published in Mayo Proceedings; Article on Drug Shortages
Dr. Gundy Sweet, director of curriculum assessment and clinical professor of pharmacy, was recently published in Mayo Clinic Proceedings. The article is a tri-institution collaboration between Dr. Sweet, Dr. Erin Fox (directory of drug information, University of Utah), and Valerie Jensen, RPh (associate director of the drug shortage program, FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research).
Associate Dean James Stevenson, Project Lead in Creation of New Standards for Kids' Medicine
The University of Michigan and the Michigan Pharmacists Association have announced the release of new standards published on as part of a sweeping campaign to educate prescribers and pharmacists in the state and rest of the country. Associate Dean James Stevenson is project leader for this initiative.
Dr. William Higuchi Receives Honorary Degree
Dr. William Higuchi, professor emeritus of pharmaceutics and pharmaceutical chemistry at the University of Utah and a former U-M faculty member from 1962-82, received an honorary degree from the University of Michigan at its winter commencement on December 15th. Higuchi is internationally recognized for his pioneering contributions to the science of drug formulation and delivery.
Alumni News
2014 Preceptor of the Year Award-Winner: Kathy Kinsey, BSPharm'76
Kathy Kinsey has been selected as the recipient of the 2013-2014 Preceptor of the Year Award! Preceptors are nominated for this award by students and peers. Ms. Kinsey has been an Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor with the College since 1983, and she precepts Introductory and Advanced Health System/Hospital rotations, both at U-M Medical Center.
Dinesh & Kalpana Patel Commit $1 Million to College of Pharmacy
As he accepted chairmanship of the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy’s $20 million campaign effort, Dinesh Patel, PhD’79, also made a generous $1 million commitment to the College. This commitment will bolster the existing Chhotubhai & Savitaben Patel Fellowships, which were established by Patel and his brothers in 2005 in honor of their parents. The College’s campaign is part of the larger comprehensive University of Michigan Victors for Michigan Campaign, which is the largest campaign ever undertaken by a university and includes an overall goal of $4 billion. Dr. Patel’s gift will directly support graduate students at the College, a priority of the campaign.
Victors for Michigan Campaign Progress
As part of the University of Michigan’s Victors for Michigan $4 billion campaign, the College of Pharmacy is seeking $20 million by the campaign’s end in 2018. To date, nearly $8 million has been committed toward this goal. With these dollars, the College will decrease student debt, increase the value of our students’ degrees, and bolster basic and clinical research leading to positive patient outcomes.
More News
Safe Medication Disposal Event Proves a Resounding Success
The College hosted its first ever Safe Medication Disposal Event near Ingalls Mall in Ann Arbor on Thursday. An estimated 160 pounds of medications were collected during the 4-hour event, 25% of which were controlled substances. This has a huge impact on keeping our water clean and our communities safe from drug diversion. A special thanks goes out to the U-M College of Pharmacy students, Sergeant Gary Hicks, Debra Cook from Village Apothecary, and Chris Angel from Great Lakes Clean Water Alliance "Yellow Jug" Program for making this event possible.
College of Pharmacy Hosts Their First Annual Science Day; Huge Success
On Friday, January 31, 2014, the College of Pharmacy hosted their inaugural Science Day at the Michigan League, which offered an opportunity for College students and faculty to showcase their research and network with other College affiliates. The event brought together over 500 participants, which was the largest ever College gathering. Nearly 120 PharmD students, PhD students, post-doctoral fellows, and faculty members presented their research. The second annual Science Day will be held on Friday, February 13, 2015, at the Michigan Union.
In Vivo Predictive Dissolution Conference
August 4, 2014 - 7:00am to August 6, 2014 - to 12:30pm
Rackham Horace H School of Graduate Studies, Amphitheatre


Board of Governors Fall Meeting
October 2, 2015
North Quadrangle, Ehrlicher Room


White Coat Ceremony
October 2, 2015
Rackham Horace H School of Graduate Studies, Auditorium


John G. Topliss Award Lecture
October 2, 2014 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Palmer Commons, Forum Hall


Tom D. Rowe Annual Pharmacy Lectures & Homecoming Weekend Festivities
October 31, 2014 to November 1, 2014
Weber's Inn & The Big House Michigan Stadium


Dean's Advisory Committee Meeting
September 18, 2015
Palmer Commons


Leaders and Legacy
November 1, 2024
Weber's Boutique Hotel


Got more news?
We’d love to hear from you!
Submit it here!
U-M College of Pharmacy
428 Church St.
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104
(734) 764-7312
[email protected]
COP Directory