February 20, 2017
Congratulations to Dr. Lynda S. Welage, BSPharm’81.

Dr. Lynda S. Welage, BSPharm’81, has been named dean of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, effective July 31, 2017, and pending approval by the Board of Regents at its March meeting.

As dean, Welage will be chief executive officer and chief academic officer of the College of Pharmacy, a leader in innovative pharmacy education, research, policy, and practice development, offering professional and graduate programs on both the Twin Cities and Duluth campuses. Welage will provide strategic and intellectual leadership and administrative oversight for the school and will collaborate with other campus deans to advance the University's collective mission.

Welage brings to the University extensive experience as a collaborative academic leader and an accomplished translational researcher, educator, and pharmacy practitioner. Since 2011, she has been dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, where she is also professor of pharmacy practice and administrative sciences. Previously, she was a professor, clinical pharmacist, and associate dean for academic affairs at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, having joined that faculty in 1988. Her varied leadership roles at Michigan included service as associate director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research.

Welage holds a doctor of pharmacy degree from the State University of New York at Buffalo, Division of Clinical Pharmacy, and a bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor. A nationally known expert on critical care and drug absorption, she has researched, published, and presented extensively on issues related to alterations in intestinal transport processes during acute inflammatory states.

Welage is on the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Board of Trustees, is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Council of Deans' Task Force on Population Health, is a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and has held many other leadership roles in local, state, and national pharmacy and medical organizations.

See the full release on the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy’s website.