November 25, 2019
Dr. David Smith presents Kim L.R. Brouwer with the Allen J. Sedman Lecture award.
Dr. David Smith (left) presents Dr. Kim L.R. Brouwer (right) with the Allen J. Sedman Lecture award.

On September 25, 2019, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy students, faculty, and friends were treated to a presentation from invited guest speaker, Kim L.R. Brouwer, PharmD, PhD. Dr. Brouwer was the third recipient of the Allen J. Sedman Lecture award.

Dr. Brouwer is Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, and Kenan Distinguished Professor in the School of Pharmacy and Curriculum in Toxicology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Her research program (supported by NIH since 1991) focuses on hepatobiliary drug disposition, hepatic transport proteins, and development/refinement of in vitro models to predict in vivo hepatic drug disposition, drug interactions, and hepatotoxicity.

Dr. Brouwer combines in vitro tools, in vivo probes, and in silico models to more efficiently identify hepatic transporter-mediated drug interactions and bile acid-mediated drug-induced liver injury susceptibility factors. Her findings will, ultimately, improve prediction accuracy and optimize pharmacotherapy in the clinic. Dr. Brouwer gave an outstanding presentation of her research, which was well received by faculty and students in the College of Pharmacy and U-M Medical School.

Dr. Sedman is a graduate of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in the College of Pharmacy.  His generous endowment of the Allen J. Sedman Lecture seminar series brings cutting-edge research presentations in the fields of pharmacokinetics-pharmacodynamics, pharmacometrics, biopharmaceutics, drug metabolism, drug transport and targeting, and pharmacogenomics to the College.

This series allows the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences to invite thought-leaders to our campus and share their vision of science, education and citizenship with our faculty and, most important, our graduate students. This interaction is critical to the development of our doctoral students as they advance through their dissertation project, and consider future opportunities and careers. 

Dr. Brouwer was founding Director of the UNC Pharmacokinetics/Pharmacodynamics Fellowship Program, and is Co-PI of an NIH-funded Postdoctoral T32 Training Program in Clinical Pharmacology. She has mentored a diverse group of trainees (42 clinical pharmacology fellows, 28 postdoctoral fellows/visiting scholars, 34 PhD students, and numerous undergraduate/honors students), and published about 230 research papers, reviews and book chapters.

Dr. Brouwer is co-inventor of B-CLEAR® and co-founder of Qualyst Transporter Solutions, a UNC spin-off company recently acquired by BioIVT. She is a member of the International Transporter Consortium Steering Committee, a member of editorial advisory boards (Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, CPT Pharmacometrics & Systems Pharmacology, Clinical and Translational ScienceAAPS Journal), and has served as a member of the ASCPT Board of Directors (2014-2017), NIH Pharmacology Study Section (1998-2002), NIH Quantitative and Systems Pharmacology Working Group (2010-2012), and co-Chair of the NICHD Pediatric Transporters Working Group (2012-2015).

Dr. Brouwer was recognized as an AAPS Fellow in 1998, and received the 2001 PhRMA Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmaceutics, and the 2018 ASCPT-FDA Abrams Award. In 2009, Dr. Brouwer was named a Kenan Distinguished Professor, one of the highest honors bestowed on UNC faculty.

For more information on the weekly PharmSci department seminar series, please visit: