• 2024 Norman Farnsworth Award, American Society for Pharmacognosy
  • 2024 ASP Farnsworth Award - Recognition of lifetime contributions to research in natural products chemistry, American Society of Pharmacognosy
  • 2016 Maximizing Research Investigator Award (R35), NIH
  • 2015 ASM Distinguished Lecturer, American Society of Microbiology
  • 2009 Charles Thom Award, Society for Industrial Microbiology, Society for Industrial Microbiology
  • 2009 A.C. Cope Scholar Award, American Chemical Society, American Chemical Soceity
  • 2008 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 1992 Eli Lilly Life Sciences Award, Eli Lilly